Arthur’s Quilt

In the last few years I have been able to go back to ‘my center’ in a way and have had the opportunity to exploit my creativity. It is nice to get a break and do what you really want to do to. Not only to have the choice and option, but also the time, space, assistance, financial support and the encouragement from your husband. Of course, it is still a choice that we can more or less control ourselves. It depends on our priorities and sacrifices may need to be made. Sometimes fear of change and embarking into the unknown prevents us from taking the big step to acheiving what we really want… but it can be done! We often wish for it, but if we really had the chance to not have to worry about the real things like bills and medical insurance, how many of us would really in-fact do want we want and be comfortable doing it, guilt free?

DSC_0046

With our choices, we have been given lots of opportunities. Sure, sometimes there are hard days, but overall, there is not much for me to complain about. I try to see the positive sides and the advantages and thus, I see only benefits rather than dwelling in the negative…

So in the last few years I have been able to achieve a profound level of creativity. In essence, I have been ‘playing’ for the last three years! I have taken on several projects, completed some, while others are still in progress, forgotten, or left unfinished in different mediums such as paper, photo, fabric, paint, wood, video, computer, web…

DSC_0045

My latest creation, which took me about three months to complete is a baby quilt for the 2nd son of a very dear friend. I haven’t always been a fan of quilting. I first learned the craft in Girl Scout camp when I was in high school. But I never had the courage to actually make a full quilt and would always turn my projects into pot holders, or pillows. A couple years ago I discovered the hip quilting magazine called Quilts & More. Their quilts, projects and fabrics are modern, fresh and pretty. They give a new twist to the age-old folk-art. After buying each issue for the past three years, I decided that maybe I should give it a shot and actually use the magazine to make a quilt instead of just piling up the magazines on a shelf.

So I purchased one of these very cool Jelly-Rolls (which saves you time and energy on cutting out strips, a huge plus for me!) and found inspiration in this pattern. I pieced the quilt by machine, but quilted it by hand. The finished quilt measures approximately 129cm x 157cm (4ft3in x 5ft1in). For my first quilt, I am pretty proud of my work! I hope Arthur will enjoy being wrapped in it!

DSC_0036

Shops :
Fat Quarter Shop, Texas, USA – Jelly Roll
Fernando Maluhy, Sao Paulo, Brazil – strips, backing fabric
Entrelinhas, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – Batting, quilting thread

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in creativity, quilting, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arthur’s Quilt

  1. Catherine says:

    It’s beautiful, Alexandra, and so special that you made it! I too am very proud of you! Hope you have set you signature on it somewhere!

  2. Sabine says:

    I’m so proud you made it for my son…prouder that it’s the first you finish… and I think Arthur won’t have any choise but loving it otherwhise, I’ll keep it for me!!!!!
    XOXO

  3. Pingback: Blankets Wrap you in Warmth, Quilts Wrap you in Love. « XandraExpressions

Leave a Reply

