Day 15 : AEDM – Car Rides & Cross-Stitches

I am a big fan of car rides, especially when I am not the one driving! Nothing beats sitting in the passenger seat giving me a chance to either read or be more creative and cross-stitch! As a mother of two, I don’t often get time to myself during the day. Even during nap times there is always laundry to do, ironing, meals to prep. or phone calls to make, emails to send, etc.

However in the car, I can’t do all those things! I can’t run errands, can’t cook, I can’t iron, can’t give in to every one of my children’s whims. I can read and cross-stitch, and that is exactly what I do. And I am lucky that I have never been one to have motion sickness, so that has never been an issue for me. If I ride in the car and don’t have a book or magazine to read or a project to cross-stitch I immediately feel frustrated and think of the lost time and all the stitches I could embroider that I won’t, the steady progress that won’t be made.

I’ve been working on a monochrome cross-stitch project for quite some time now. I am at the point where I am adding the final stitches, the backstitches. In order to do a good job, I need good lighting and I need to not be moving to properly count the stitches. Precision that I don’t need for stitching the regular crosses in a grid. I am also, once again, getting sick of stitching in just blue, so I picked up another project I began about four months ago in Brazil (yes! when I ran out of blue thread for the monochrome design!) that I leave tucked into the draw under the passenger seat of the car. That way, I always have something ready to work on, whether our road trip is long or short, I can get a few stitches done.

IMG_0643

With all our day trips to different areas this week (Honfleur, Deauville, Rouen, La Chaussée d’Ivry) I have been able to get some stitching done and advance the project. The chart, from DMC, is called “Leaves” in shades of green. It is almost like a monochrome design, but not quite. There are about eight different shades of green, very similar in hue, which makes the project a bit more advanced and a lot more fun since not only are you counting but you are changing threads and need to take care to not mix and match each of the green threads!

You can download the free chart here.
leaves

I am really excited about this project. It is simple, showing the leaves of three different plants. I think it might look nice in our future kitchen, our will that be too much clashing green? I guess we’ll have to wait and see when we move in.

Today is the fifteenth day of Art Every Day Month. I am very proud with myself that, so far-so good, I have been able to keep up with the program and rigorous demands of the challenge – to create something, or be creative each day and then write about it in my blog. It is a wonderful idea and has given me a lot of motivation to pursue my projects despite being in transition in a hotel. Though, as I am not typically a daily blogger, the challenge has kept me on my toes. I hope I can continue through the end of the month! I am happy that at this moment of transition, I have another outlet in which to seek happiness – living in a hotel for three months, for a family of four can be a bit of a challenge in itself! I have limited resources and still all the daily joys and burdens to attend to, so it is nice to think about creating and seeking inspiration besides carrying out the day to day duties.

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in AEDM '09, counted cross-stitch, creativity, day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 15 : AEDM – Car Rides & Cross-Stitches

  1. Kara says:

    Martha would be so proud. This will be perfect with the linen we saw at Autour du Monde in the Marais for your rustic French kitchen!

  2. Pingback: Day 21 AEDM : Posting While Abscent « XandraExpressions

  3. Pingback: Day 23 AEDM : Consistent Progress « XandraExpressions

  4. Caity says:

    Wow, the cross-stitching looks fantastic! I adore it! I think it will look great in your kitchen! You definitely have been doing great with being creative and then blogging about it. Most people have trouble even just blogging each day.

Leave a Reply

