Day 17 : AEDM – Tonight’s Prayers

Tonight, for this seventeenth day of Art Every Day Month, I have not much to share, though much to reflect upon, and such little power to make any changes…

It is not that I lack ideas or haven’t found the inspiration, it is just that these past days I either don’t feel like creating, or don’t have the right tools to create what I want, the way that I want. I feel that I have used up my limited resources. My energy is consumed, I am emotionally tired.

I received the holiday catalogue for Galeries Lafayette department store today. I briefly browsed through it this evening and thought that with the bad news and sad news coming in from the family, the glossy perfume ads and featured gift ideas would be better folded into paper cranes. I will not attempt to fold enough to make miracles, but with my Japanese background, I can’t help believing in their magic… the prayers the papers become when they are folded and their spirit is ignited, and they take flight… These are my evening prayers, my end of the day wishes… For Maman, for Grandmama, and for the Family…

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in AEDM '09, family, Japan, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 17 : AEDM – Tonight’s Prayers

  1. Eric - Papa says:

    Thanks for the Origami cranes…Good use for a catalogue…

Leave a Reply

