Wordless Wednesday

This is a neighbor’s old barn door. We walk by this door twice almost everyday. I LOVE this weather-worn door – the roughness of the wood, the texture of the wall it is in, the mark of the old steps that once led up to the door. This door has so much character, much more than any newer ‘younger’ door. I can’t help but wonder who used this door? For whom was it opened? When was it closed, and for what reason was it blocked shut forever and the steps taken away…? What stories are hidden behind this door…?

This door makes me think of the ‘doors’ in my life – the ones I have opened, the ones I’ve walked right by and left shut, the ones I hesitated to open, but opened anyway, reluctant at first to walk through, but later filling me with happiness and satisfaction, the new recent doors that I have just freshly pushed opened, and all the doors I have yet to come across and open. What opportunities will beckon from their entryway…?

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in reflections, wordless wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wordless Wednesday

  1. Catherine says:

    I love the “antiquity” of your new environment. I love history. It’s as if you are being cradled in the arms of all who passed before you. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

