l’Aiguille en Fête !

Over the Valentine’s Day weekend, l’Aiguille en Fête, another creative, crafty trunk show took place at Park de la Villette in Paris for the 7th year. Unlike the Créations et Savoir Faire show that I went to back in November, this one focused exclusively on needle crafts.

Vendors came from all over France, as well as Belgium, England, Spain, Italy, Holland, Finland and Japan. Because the show focused on only one craft, it was smaller and less overwhelming to visit (than the Créations et Savoir Faire show). Most of the vendors featured sewing notions and supplies for patchwork quilts, embroidery, and knitting with a few stands selling just buttons or ribbons or various threads.

Before going I made a list of vendors I wanted to see and supplies I wanted to purchase. Recently, I’ve taken up monochrome cross-stitching on linen, so I purchased 11 count linen from two different vendors in three colors – beige, light blue and white. I also found some pretty ribbon with hearts which I can use in either sewing projects, on scrapbook pages or for hand-made cards and gift tags. And I got cute little boy buttons – dinosaurs, cars and airplanes which are usually so hard to come by. (There are always flowers, butterflies, hearts and rainbow buttons to be found for girls..!) I was also able to purchase batting and other quilting supplies for a quilt I am currently working on…

There were over 200 vendors present, here’s a list of the ones which inspired me or from whom I purchased:

Atelier d’Eole
Au fil de l’Yères
Bobinette & Companie
Cabana-Créations
Crafty Ribbons & Crafty Buttons</a
Diffusion Henri IV
Fujiquilt
H&E Tissus
Junkudo
Mango et Fleurus
Pfaff
Saperlipo’ Patch

The show lasted four days from the 11th to the 14th of February. I went with my friend Sabine; it was the first craft trunk show I do with a girl friend which was so much more fun! We went on the third day of the show and suprisingly there weren’t too many people which was great! We spent about three hours going through each row, taking in all the ideas and creativity. (Special thanks to our hubbies who babysat the boys during our ‘Girls Afternoon Out’, it was a super pre-Valentine’s Day treat!) I’ve already marked my calendar for next year’s show which will go from the 10th to the 13th of February.

In other crafty news, the new Marie-Claire Idées magazine came out last Thursday with lots of ideas for spring and Easter. I love that the magazine is published bi-monthly now, meaning six issues a year! The next issue comes out April 15!

Resources :
l’Aiguille en Fête
Créations et Savoir Faire

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in counted cross-stitch, creativity, exhibits. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to l’Aiguille en Fête !

  1. Catherine says:

    So glad you were able to take advantage of the four days of the show with Sabine. How long of a train ride is it for you to go into Paris? Just planning….ha ha!

Leave a Reply

