Recollections…

Tag your it! I was tagged by Caity for this fun photo game. This is the first time I ever get tagged, I am so excited! Thanks Caity for thinking of me =)

The Rules:
1. Open your 1st Photo folder.
2. Scroll to the 10th photo.
3. Post the photo and the story behind it.
4. Tag 5 or more people.

This photo was taken two years ago. We were living in Brazil, celebrating Thanksgiving with our French friends. Talk about being international! This was the first time we ever hosted Thanksgiving, so I was a little nervous about making everything. For several of our friends it was their first taste of an American Thanksgiving, so I wanted to get everything right! It was even more of a challenge because a lot of ingredients were hard to find in our little rural town of Penedo, so I ended up making everything from scratch, from turkey stuffing to steaming pumpkin for the pie and making all the pie crusts. It was a very rewarding experience though; made me contemplate how easy our lives have become with pre-made, ready to bake everything.

In Brazil, in November, it’s the end of spring, heading into summer, so we set the table up outside by the pool. Celebrating Thanksgiving in the Tropics was a little odd; to be poolside for a typically autumn holiday was disorienting, but it was still great fun. I know I made my family jealous swimming on Thanksgiving day while they were all cold with snow… But no matter what our origins are, or where we are in the world, or what the weather may be, we still have plenty to be thankful for!

I now tag Kathryn, my brother Albert, my aunt Catherine, Pascal, Suzanne and Brenda.

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in Brazil, holidays, photography, reflections, USA. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recollections…

  1. Caity says:

    I’m glad you liked being tagged! Thanks for participating! The table looks so adorable! I still think it’s so awesome that you’ve lived so many awesome places. You’ve gone on so many great adventures. You definitely had a lot to be Thankful for, you’re right! 🙂

  2. sakurasnow says:

    Hi Xandra,

    A poolside thanksgiving sounds like a lot of fun! Thanks for thinking of me for this photo challenge – I’d like to be able to respond properly but am having a pretty hectic time with work at the moment (deadlines upon deadlines looming :). As I participated in a similar photo tag a while back I thought it might be OK just to link to that. I hope you don’t mind!

    P.S. Your quilt for your mother-in-law looks beautiful – I’m sure she loves it!

    • Xandra says:

      Hello!
      No worries, I missed your previous photo post… I wouldn’t have bothered you otherwise =) Your photos are just so spectacular. The things you see and the way you see them is breathtaking. I am in awe-

Leave a Reply

