“A picture should be looked at – not talked about” ~Elliott Erwitt

Friday, the boys and I went to see the Elliott Erwitt Expo at the Maison Européenne de la Photographie in the Marais.

This exhibit, called “Personal Best” is a sort of retrospective of Erwitt’s 60-year career and features a selection of 130 of the photographer’s favourite photos. Elliott Erwitt’s work is fresh, fun and spontaneous. He is known for his black and white candid shots of ironic and absurd situations within everyday settings. Whether it be to photograph dogs, children, celebrities or politics, I feel like he his lurking, hiding, playing a trick on his subjects, mischievously when they least expect it.

Felix, Gladys, and Rover, 1974

The exhibit was really beautiful. Several of the photos made me laugh, some made me ponder the situation of the moment in which they were taken and wonder if things have changed at all. I was familiar with a few of Erwitt’s more famous photographs but had never seen them all together in one exhibit. I walked through the exhibit once quickly because I just couldn’t wait to see all the photos and then I went back and took more time to look at each one.

Thibault seemed to enjoy the exhibit too. He first started looking for trucks, trains and cars, then started looking at the dog and baby photos and eventually looked at all the photos in the exhibit. I think a lot of people were suprised to see that I had brought my young children along with me to the exhibit and the stroller. I caught several people taking pictures of Thibault as he contemplated the photographs. (F.Y.I the museum has an elevator and lets you keep your stroller throughout the exhibits which is so not common in most Parisian museums!) Damien was less enthusiastic about being present and would have prefered to walk run through the exhibit hall, so we settled on the next best thing, being in my arms.

Segregated Water Fountains, 1950

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in exhibits, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “A picture should be looked at – not talked about” ~Elliott Erwitt

  1. Desiree says:

    all of these are amazing

  2. Catherine says:

    Nice. And it’s nice to see that art appreciation is starting at such a young age for your boys!

  3. Lovely photos, thank you for introducing me to a new artist! And I’m very impressed that you are introducing your children when they are still so very young. They are fortunate to have you as a mom!

  4. Diane says:

    Wow, what a wonderful way to teach your boys about the wonders of art and what it brings to our lives. Great job Mom!!!!

  5. Caity says:

    Those photos are really awesome!

Leave a Reply

