Itching to Stitch!

It’s incredible how liberated I feel since my last post. I feel fresh, renewed, filled with the sunshine of this warm spring morning, able to move on to more important, fun things now that I have gotten all of that disappointment and anger out of my system!

I have been browsing the blogosphere recently and have come across some more lovely blogs. Vanessa’s is one that I am particularly enchanted with. Seeing her creations has given me the itch to resume my cross stitiching projects, which I realize I have neglected for the past four months!!

For my birthday, Christmas and Valentine’s day, my sweet-heart husband has been offering me books from the cutest little embroidery series. I am not quite sure exactly how many books exist in the collection; so far he has given me RED, GREEN, PINK, WHITE, & ANGELS.

Each book features designs for classic embroidery and counted cross-stitch, showing photos of various items made with the stitched motifs. A needle, piece of linen and two skeins of DMC embroidery floss in the color of the title accompany each book, perfect for starting immediately on a project without having to run out and get supplies!

Naturally, I had no other choice but to abandon my other unfinished cross-stitch projects (Home, Leaves) to begin a fresh new design with the materials so conveniently tucked inside the cover! I started with the RED book and chose this matryoshka motif in a deep red (DMC 815). I am not sure how I will use the finished piece once I am done – if I will frame it or make it into a cushion or bag, or other decorative or useful item…

I love these following motifs from the PINK and GREEN books for my next projects… I find the sweets so deliciously cute and think the airplanes, cars, boats and scooter motifs would be perfect on items for my little boys… My fingers can not stitch quickly enough!


References : Marabout d’ficelle

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in counted cross-stitch, creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Itching to Stitch!

  1. Catherine says:

    Very, very nice, and so glad you’re feeling better!

  2. Caity says:

    I’m so glad that you are feeling better, hun. Cool patterns! I especially love those cupcakes!

  3. Pingback: Matryoshka Patchwork « XandraExpressions

Leave a Reply

