An Inspiring Nook of Creativity

I always get so giddy with excitement every time the new Marie-Claire Idées magazine comes out. Starting this past January, the magazine now comes out bi-monthly rather than tri-monthly which has been such a treat!

I was a little less thrilled with the last couple of issues – the magazine always features good ideas, but I was less inspired by the projects of the past issues. Thursday (April 15), the May-June issue was available on newsstands.

This recent issue features fascinating projects with recycled old jeans, a shopping spree to London for design-y, trend-y fabrics and accessories and hip and fun quilting projects. My absolute favourite project is this lovely sleeping stuffed dog. So precious, you just want to cuddle with him and fall asleep too! Hopefully I’ll get to tackle this design soon. I am not at all a dog person, but I could definately take loving care of this one!

In other creative MCI news was the announcements of dates and theme for the next Salon Créations & Savoir-faire. I went to last year’s and had such a fabulous time. This year the Salon will take place Nov. 18 – 22, 2010. The theme for the upcoming show is “in Wonderland”. The organizers of the trunk show are having a contest for the most creative items made, inspired by the enchanted world of Lewis Caroll. If I have time, I will try to create something for the event. The winners will have the priveledge of having their creation exhibited at the show. Entries are being accepted until Sept. 2, 2010.

Taking place every year at the trunk show is a project for an association. Yet another activity I’d like to participate in, MCI readers are asked to make a creative design that will be sold during the trunk show, all procedes going to this year’s association L’Etoile de Martin. The theme for this year’s project is “Autour de l’Amour” (Around Love). Entries are being accepted until June 5, which gives me a little over a month. I have an idea using embroidered hearts…. Though, as I am famous for begining projects but not always finishing them I must be careful to not get carried away with my ideas to take on too much!

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in creativity, exhibits. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

