Gâteau au Yaourt

The French are famous for their delicious and delicate pastries, savory deserts, and to-die-for chocolate mousse. Though, often overlooked is this family-friendly, fun and easy cake, perfect for children’s goûter (snack-time)!

The fun behind baking a gâteau au yaourt (yogurt cake) is that all the ingredients are measured using the yogurt container! It’s a prefect recipe to initiate kids to cooking and baking.

This cake is a classical in French households, especially ones with children. My recipe originally comes from my sister-in-law, though I have tweeked it a little over the years… Today, while I was making the batter I decided that instead of using the usual cake tin, I would make individual cupcakes, and since I had some strawberries on hand, I decided to top each cake with some!

The cute little delicacies were oh-so-yummy! I was able to get 18 cupcakes. We had some for snack time and some for dessert at dinner, and have just enough left for a breakfast treat tomorrow morning!

Recipe
Gâteau au yaourt (using yogurt container to measure)
In a large bowl mix :
1 plain yogurt (I used a 150g/ 5 ounce yogurt container)
4 yogurt containers of flour
3 of sugar
1/2 of oil
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. vanilla extract
pinch of salt
3 eggs
Bake 45 minutes @ 350°F/180°C (about 25 minutes for cupcakes)

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in Food, France, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gâteau au Yaourt

  1. Catherine says:

    I remember this cake when we were in Penedo, Brazil!!!

  2. Julia says:

    Yummy….I must try it 🙂

  3. Yummy, your cakes look delicious!

  4. Caity says:

    Mmm that looks absolutely delicious!

  5. Becca says:

    Those look yummy!

Leave a Reply

