On My Own

Yesterday, after leaving the vernissage, I didn’t, just couldn’t go home right away. I needed a moment to take it all in, file away the inspiration, the spiral of ideas that came with it; I had to deal with the overwhelming senses of having the urge to create right there, right now, and the frustration of know that I just couldn’t, not right now, right here.

I decided to take a walk and since I had my camera with me, and no children to watch, no hands to hold, no noses to wipe, I decided that the walk would be an excersise in observation. In my oh-so-lovely solitary moment, to look and see what I typically cannot take the time to look at due to limited time, or that my attention is being given elsewhere, or that I am too busy running errands, or that there is just too much commotion going on.

I also stopped a couple of time on the drive home…





I didn’t really take all that many photos in the end, but the walk was still an exhilerating one – to be so free, to cross the street when I want, quickly because I saw something I liked. To stop and look. To wait and observe. To start walking again and briskly. It was all so very invigorating!

About Alexandra

wife, lover, mother, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, blogger, scrap-booker, cross-stitcher, photographer, designer, multi-lingual speaker, dual-citizenship holder, world traveler, dreamer... hopeful, happy, blessed
This entry was posted in creativity, photography, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On My Own

  1. Catherine says:

    I love the shot of the trees at the gate! I wish you would put this all down in a book to pass along to your boys and their children. I would be so tickled if I had such recordings from Mom or Memere…

Leave a Reply

